The Great Outdoors (Music From the Motion Picture)

Released in 1988
Atlantic Records
Produced by Steve Cropper (tracks 1, 2, 5), Tom Scott (track 8), Peter Aykroyd and Ran Ballard (track 9)

The Great Outdoors (Music From the Motion Picture) includes five tracks by Elwood Blues / the Elwood Blues Revue.


  1. Elwood Blues Revue featuring Wilson Pickett: “Land of a Thousand Dances (Part 1) (Chris Kenner / Antoine Domino)
  2. Elwood Blues Revue featuring Sam Moore: “Hot Fun in the Summertime” (Sylvester Stewart)
  3. Joe Walsh: “Big Country” (Bruce Gowdy / Billy Sherwood / Peter Aykroyd)
  4. David Wilcox: “Cabin Fever” (David Wilcox / Sadia)
  5. Elwood Blues Revue featuring Wilson Pickett: “Land of a Thousand Dances (Part 2) (Chris Kenner / Antoine Domino)
  6. Bomb the Bass: “Big Bear” (Tim Simenon / Pascal Gabriel)
  7. Pop Will Eat Itself: “Beaver Patrol” (Tim Archibald)
  8. Elwood Blues and Tom Scott: “Dragboat” (Tom Scott)
  9. Elwood Blues and Peter Aykroyd: “Hot Weasel” (Peter Aykroyd / Ran Ballard)
  10. Thomas Newman and the Lazy: “Hey, Cowboy!” (Thomas Newman)

Song Notes

  • “Land of a Thousand Dances” is a remake of the 1962 song of the same name, which Wilson Pickett took to No. 1 on the US R&B chart and No. 6 on the US pop chart in 1966.
  • “Hot Fun in the Summertime” is a cover of the 1969 song by Sly and the Family Stone.


Paul Shaffer: Keyboards (tracks 2, 5)
Steve Cropper: Guitar (tracks 2, 5)
Sid McGinnis: Guitar (tracks 2, 5)
Duck Dunn: Bass (tracks 2, 5)
Anton Fig: Drums (tracks 2, 5)
Tom Malone: Trombone (tracks 2, 5)
Lou Marini: Saxophone (tracks 2, 5)
Alan Rubin: Trumpet (tracks 2, 5)
Lou Del Gatto: Baritone sax (tracks 2, 5)

Dave Barrett: Programming and remixing (track 1)
Jerry Deaton: Keyboard bass (track 5)

Rick Marotta: Drums (track 8)
Nathan East: Bass (track 8)
Michael Landau: Guitar (track 8)
Alan Pasqua: Synthesizer and organ (track 8)
Tom Scott: Baritone sax (track 8)
Mike Fisher: Percussion (track 8)

Personnel Notes

  • The band on tracks 2 and 5 is a mashup of the Blues Brothers Band (Steve Cropper, Duck Dunn and the horns) and the World’s Most Dangerous Band (Paul Shaffer, Sid McGinnis, Anton Fig) from Late Night with David Letterman. Shaffer, leader of the World’s Most Dangerous Band, was the original keyboardist and musical director for the Blues Brothers. A similar lineup performed at the Atlantic Records 40th Anniversary concert earlier in the year, for which Shaffer also served as musical director.
  • Saxophonist Tom Scott was an original member of the Blues Brothers.
  • Peter Aykroyd is Dan Aykroyd’s brother. He also teamed up with Elwood for the 1991 soundtrack to Nothing But Trouble.

Chart Position

The Great Outdoors (Music From the Motion Picture) did not chart in the US.


“Land of a Thousand Dances (Part 1)” b/w “Land of a Thousand Dances (Part 2)”
Released in 1988